Scott Tannehill, MD

« Back To Leadership

Scott Tannehill, MD

Radiation Oncology | Arizona Center for Cancer Care

Dr. Scott P. Tannehill is board certified Radiation Oncology with two decades of clinical experience. He has been in practice in Arizona since 2008, and was a co-founder of Arizona Breast Cancer Specialists and Arizona Radiation Oncology Specialists when those practices merged to join Arizona Center for Cancer Care in 2012.

Dr. Tannehill earned his medical degree and specialty training at the University of Wisconsin. He has held faculty positions at several top-tier universities, including the University of Wisconsin, the University of Florida, and the University of Arizona. At Wisconsin he was Chair of the Oncology Curriculum for the University of Wisconsin for several years. He worked a sabbatical year at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre in Melbourne, Australia, before moving to Arizona and joining the faculty at the University of Arizona-Tucson, where he served as the Program Director for the Radiation Oncology Residency at that institution. Dr. Tannehill continues to hold the academic title of Clinical Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology with the University of Arizona, and continues to educate medical trainees from that institution.

Dr. Tannehill has extensive clinical expertise in brachytherapy and in Intensity-Modulated Radiation Therapy (IMRT). He has been invited to present on his techniques and experience both nationally and internationally. His research interests include treatment techniques for breast cancer; brachytherapy for breast and other cancers; and participation in cooperative group clinical research.

Dr. Tannehill is a member of the European Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology, American Society of Hematology, American Society of Clinical Oncology and American Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology. He is board certified by American Board of Radiology.

Dr. Tannehill is a multi-year “Top Doc” honoree by Phoenix Magazine and has been named among the “Best Doctors in America” by Best Doctors, Inc since 2003.